Bob Rennie Receives the 2014 Order of British Columbia

Twenty-five British Columbians who have contributed to the province in extraordinary ways will be appointed to the Order of British Columbia, Lieutenant-Governor Judith Guichon, Chancellor of the Order, announced today, May 28, 2014.

“The Order of British Columbia is the province’s most prestigious accolade,” said Guichon. “For 25 years, we have publicly recognized those who have dedicated themselves to bettering the lives of their fellow citizens. These recipients exemplify the positive difference one person can make in a community and are an inspiration to all British Columbians.”

“The Order of British Columbia recognizes remarkable accomplishments by extraordinary British Columbians,” said Premier Christy Clark. “On behalf of all British Columbians, I want to thank this year’s recipients for their dedication – and all they do to make B.C. better.”

This year’s recipients are:

Bob Rennie of Vancouver – business leader and patron of arts and culture

Roger H. Barnsley, Ph.D., of Parksville – educator and founding president of Thompson Rivers University

Peter Bentley, O.C., Hon. LL.D. of Vancouver – forest industry executive and community leader

Dana Brynelsen, Hon. LL.D. of Halfmoon Bay – visionary in the field of early childhood intervention for people with special needs

John A. Cairns, M.D., FRCPC, FCAHS, FRCP, FACC of Vancouver – heart disease researcher and educator

Tung Chan, Hon. LL.D. of Richmond, honorary captain in the Royal Canadian Navy – volunteer, philanthropist and immigrant-community leader

William Clifford, M.D., B.Sc., B.Med.Sci, M.ScF, FCFP of Prince George – physician and health information technology pioneer

Douglas Coupland, O.C., D.Litt, R.C.A of West Vancouver – writer, designer, visual artist and global change-maker

Gloria Cuccione of Coquitlam – philanthropist and fundraiser for childhood cancer research

Leslie Diamond of Vancouver – philanthropist and community volunteer

James C. Hogg, O.C., M.D., Ph.D., F.R.S.C. of Vancouver – lung disease researcher and educator

Jane Hungerford of Vancouver – volunteer, fundraiser and community leader

Paul Lacerte of Victoria – leader and advocate for the betterment of Aboriginal people

Donald R. Lindsay of Vancouver – business leader and advocate for the well-being of children

Anne Lippert of Vancouver – trailblazer among women in business and community leader

The Honourable Leonard Marchand, P.C., C.M., M.S.F. of Kamloops – Parliamentarian and advocate for justice for First Nations

K. Barry Marsden, C.M. of West Vancouver – innovative developer of aerial firefighting equipment and aerospace technology

Chief Chester Moore of Terrace – hereditary chieftain and promoter of Nisga’a culture

Rudolph North, C.M., B.Comm. Hon. LL.D. of Vancouver – philanthropist, humanitarian and business leader

David R. Podmore of Vancouver – industry and community leader

John Brian Patrick Quinn, O.C., J.D., Hon. LL.D. of West Vancouver – professional hockey executive and gold-medal winning coach

Chief Councillor Ellis Ross of Kitamaat Village Haisla – business, political and community leader

Lorne R. Segal of Vancouver – community philanthropist and business leader

Aubrey Tingle, M.D., Ph.D., Hon. D.Sc , FRCPC, FCAHS of Richmond – health research leader, builder and mentor

Hal Weinberg, Ph.D. of Anmore – brain behaviour researcher and local government leader

Recipients of the Order of British Columbia have been selected by an independent advisory committee from public nominations. The 2014 Advisory Committee consists of: The Honourable Robert J. Bauman (chair), Chief Justice of British Columbia; The Honourable Linda Reid, Speaker of the Legislative Assembly; Dr. Kris Bulcroft, president, Capilano University; Athana Mentzelopoulos, deputy minister, Intergovernmental Relations Secretariat; Rhona Martin, president, Union of British Columbia Municipalities; Larry Berg, O.B.C., and Sergio Cocchia, O.B.C. (2013 recipients of the Order).

The Order of British Columbia investiture ceremony will be held for recipients and invited guests at Government House in Victoria on Nov. 6, 2014. Since the Order was first introduced in 1989, 370 people have been appointed.

About Bob Rennie
Bob Rennie is a successful real estate marketer and one of Canada’s most astute, ambitious and passionate art collectors.

The undisputed leader of British Columbia’s real estate community, Mr. rennie has led the industry with innovations on marketing, project design and advocacy for quality construction. He has showcased our way of life to people from around the world, contributing significantly to British Columbia’s appeal to immigrants.

Mr. rennie has also offered widespread philanthropic support to a wide array of public services and facilities in British Columbia and Canada, making major donations to hospitals and other institutions as well as small donations that go unnoticed, to artists and good Samaritans. Perhaps Mr. rennie is best known for his expertise and contributions in the world of contemporary art. He established the rennie Collection at Wing Sang in 2009 (for a collection that started in 1976), a privately funded art museum that is open to the public without charge. He funds the rennie Collection Speaker Series at Emily Carr University and the Distinguished Visiting Artist Lecture Series at the University of British Columbia.

Mr. rennie is chair of Tate Modern’s North American acquisitions committee and a member of Tate Museum’s international council. He sits on the board of governors of Emily Carr University and the Dean’s Advisory Board to the Faculty of Arts at UBC.

Whether it is bringing local art to an international audience or sharing world-renowned art with the local community, Mr. rennie has demonstrated exceptional dedication to strengthening and enhancing arts and culture in British Columbia.

Learn More: The Order of B.C. is online at: